|Active opposition to the Soviets ended in 1920.
As a consequence of defeat many
of the Kalmyk people fled to the shores of the Black Sea in hope that they would
be evacuated with the anti-Communist armies. They were allowed asylum in Turkey
and in Istanbul they established the temple. In 1920 the head of the temple baksha
Nimgrov died and in 1923 the Kalmyk closed the temple down and established a
new one in Belgrade.
The first temple was installed in this house, (still there) while the second one which
hosted the temple from 1925 -1929 was demolished around 1940s.
|TOC > Early Period > The first temple|